top of page
Beome a member. secure great seats and save up to 30%


Running of the Red Bulls

Monday, March 27, 6:00 pm

The Bowery Hotel 

On March 27, Red Bull Theater held it's 9th annual  Running of the Red Bulls Gala Benefit, an intimate soirée that celebrated a successful Red Bull Theater season and featured the presentation of the Matador Awards for Excellence in Classical Theater to Golden Globe-winning star of stage and screen OSCAR ISAAC, rising star OLIVIA REIS, and Off-Broadway leader GEORGE FORBES.

Matador Awards for Excellence in Classical Theater Begun in 2009, Matador Awards are given annually to recognize individuals or organizations that have demonstrated extraordinary Talent, Service, or Significant Achievements in the Classical Theater. Previous honorees have included Patrick Stewart, Liev Schreiber, Lynn Redgrave, Lily Rabe, Martha Plimpton, Hamish Linklater, Michael Kahn and Olympia Dukakis. This year Red Bull Theater will honor…


Matador Award for Extraordinary Talent for Classical Theater



One of the most respected actors of his generation and well-known for his leading roles in Star Wars and the title role of the Coen Brother’s Inside Llewyn Davis, Oscar took the classical stage by storm right out of Juilliard as Romeo opposite Lauren Ambrose’s Juliet and as Proteus for Shakespeare in the Park. His upcoming Hamlet, directed by Sam Gold, is one of the most anticipated classical performances of the year.



Matador Award for Extraordinary Promise for Classical Theater



At age seventeen, Olivia made her professional debut in our celebrated production of Shakespeare’s Coriolanus. An alumnae of Red Bull Theater’s Master Classes, who has also made her mark at RADA, The Public Theater, Shakespeare & Company, American Shakespeare Center, and more, Olivia is a future star for the classical theater.

Presented by MICHAEL SEXTON, Artistic Director of the Shakespeare Society



George Mayer Matador Award for Extraordinary Service to Classical Theater


Off-Broadway Leader

As Executive Director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation, George and the Lortel Foundation have been integral supporters of Red Bull Theater. Under his direction, the Foundation currently manages the Lucille Lortel Theatre and provides management services to the Cherry Lane Alternative, the Abingdon Theatre Company and Rattlestick Playwrights Theater. George is an important advocate for the Off-Broadway theater community.

Presented by GRETCHEN SHUGART, Chief Executive Officer of Theatermania


Stephanie Hazard, co-chair
Betty Rauch, co-chair
Sally Huxley, R. Clay Ballard, Mary Collins, Clarissa Crabtree, Katherine Hood, and Jane Oppenheim

Michael Sexton, honorary co-chair
Gretchen Shugart, honorary co-chair
F. Murray Abraham, Mark Linn-Baker and Christa Justus, Emily Bergl, Michael Cerveris, Kathleen Chalfant, Robert Cuccioli, Paige Davis, André De Shields, Olympia Dukakis, Jennifer Ehle, Manoel Felciano, Dana Ivey, Cherry Jones, Richard Maltby Jr., Jan Maxwell, Kathryn Meisle, Jack O’Brien, Patrick Page, Lily Rabe, Laila Robins,  Reg Rogers, Jay O. Sanders, Derek Smith, Stephen Spinella, Michael Stuhlbarg, Richard Thomas, John Douglas Thompson, Michael Urie, Marc Vietor, Nick Westrate, and Charlayne Woodard


Howard Owens, president     
Bradley McCormick, secretary    
John Yavroyan, treasurer    
Jesse Berger, Victoria Blankenship, Susan Doran, Katherine Hood, David Kalodner, James Killerlane, III, Noah Millman, Evangeline Morphos, Matthew Rauch, Mathew Rubin, Alice Scovell, and Cathy Tempelsman.

bottom of page