On June 15, we held the 7th Annual Running of the Red Bulls. An intimate soirée celebrating a successful Red Bull Theater season and featuring the presentation of the Matador Awards for Excellence in Classical Theater.  
Last year's honorees were Jack O’Brien, Martha Plimpton and the Off Broadway Angels.


 Pictures from the 2015 event are below. 


Click here for information about the 2016 Gala

Matador Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Classical Theater

Jack O’Brien



Represented on Broadway this season with the hit It’s Only a Play, Jack O’Brien is a three-time Tony Award-winning director who consistently directs and supports the classical repertoire. He was Artistic Director of the Old Globe for over twenty-five years. Major New York productions have included Henry IV, Macbeth, Much Ado About Nothing and Il trittico at the Metropolitan Opera. O’Brien also helmed the original productions of the Broadway musicals Hairspray, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels and The Full Monty.

Matador Award for Extraordinary Talent for Classical Theater

Martha Plimpton



Martha Plimpton is a three-time Tony Award-nominated actress. Her leading role on Broadway in Tom Stoppard’s trilogy The Coast of Utopia earned her a Drama Desk Award. She also played the leading role in Lincoln Center Theater's Cymbeline and has appeared on Broadway in A Delicate Balance, Pal Joey, and A Midsummer Night’s Dream for Shakespeare in the Park. Plimpton’s acclaimed screen work includes The Goonies, Mosquito Coast, Parenthood and her long-running sit-com, Raising Hope.

George Mayer Matador Award for Extraordinary Service to Classical Theater

Off Broadway Angels

Charlotte & David Ackert • Janet & Michael Slosberg • Jane Stanicki


Off Broadway Angels was formed by passionate theatergoers who served on the boards of a variety of not-for-profit Off Broadway theaters. The group funds developmental work, whether done by smaller theater companies or groups organized around a creation of specific theatrical production, including Bedlam Theater and New Dramatists. Red Bull Theater has been honored with their support for the past six seasons.

This year Red Bull Theater will honor:

Jesse Berger & Stephen Spinella

John Guare and Cathy Tempelsman

Matthew Amendt, Amelia Pedlow, Stephen Spinella, Susan Doran, John Guare, Marth Plimpton, Jack O'Brien, and Michael Slosberg

Jack O'Brien graciously accepting his award

Jack O'Brien

John Guare

Michael Slosberg of the Off Broadway Angels

Stephen Spinella

Martha Plimpton and Billy Crudup

Martha Plimpton accepting her award

Billy Crudup presenting the award

Molly Pope

Marc Vietor

David Kalodner & Susan Doran

6309RedBull 6-15-15-318.jpg
6309RedBull 6-15-15-318.jpg

Laila Robins, Robert Cuccioli and

Bradley McCormick and Marion Katz

Martin Baharastani, Debbie Baharastani, Carla, and Mathew Rubin

Jim Bredeson & Nick Alder

Gwin Joh Chin and Sandra Lee

Kathy Hood, Michelle Parsons, and Peter West

David Baldwin & Jim Bredeson

Judine Somerville

Patricia Conolly, Michael Carlsen, Martha Plimpton, Kellie Overbey

Mathew Rubin and Carla

Sally Hines, Robert Doran, Joan and David Duncan

Elizabeth Cecil, David Wagner and Harriet Gurber

Matthew Amendt, Tiasha Adams, Ray Huth, and Amanda Whiteley

and Jack O'Brien

Jack O'Brien

Jack O'Brien, Martha Plimpton & Billy Crudup

Carolyn Schiff and Noah Millman

Matthew Rauch, Jack O'Brian, Paige Davis, Patrick Page & Amelia Pedlow

Dan Fortune, Jesse Berger & Molly Pope

Matthew Rauch, Paige Davis, Patick Page & Jesse Berger

Sally Hines, Joan and David Duncan, and Susan Doran

Paige Davis & Patrick Page

Guest Performers

John Ellison Conlee
Molly Pope


Special Guests

Billy Crudup

Brian D'Arcy James

John Guare

Robert Cuccioli

Patrick Page

Laila Robins

Stephen Spinella

Charlayne Woodard

& More


Honorary Benefit Committee

Billy Crudup, Honorary Chair

Jeffory Lawson, Honorary Chair

Marsha Mason, Honorary Chair

F. Murray Abraham

Emily Bergl

Michael Cerveris

Katheeen Chalfant

Stockard Channing

Robert Cuccioli

Paige Davis

André De Shields

Olympia Dukakis

Christopher Innvar

Jan Maxwell

Patrick Page

Lily Rabe

Roger Rees

Laila Robins

Jay O. Sanders

Stephen Spinella

Michael Stuhlbarg

Richard Thomas

John Douglas Thompson

Charlayne Woodard